Getting Lippy: Sephora Lip Cream Stain

Lorac_3

This product. Ah, this product. A good lip is something I adore. Most of the time, I keep it reasonably neutral with MLBB lipsticks, but I also love the loudness of great red lipstick. Unfortunately, most lipsticks fade pretty quickly. This doesn’t bother me when it’s the aforementioned low-maintenance MLBBs, but a fading red lipstick makes me shudder. I have photographs from my 21st where toward the end of the night my Chanel lipstick looked like I was just wearing lipliner and had forgotten to apply lipstick. Never again, please.

Sephora Lip Cream Stain in #01 Always Red

Redlips_11

(For the full FOTD, go here)

Firstly, it’s a gorgeous red. I think it’s incredibly beautiful. It’s matte, too, which I don’t always require in a red but definitely looks quite classy. However, the most important thing about this lipstick is the lasting power. It. Does. Not. Budge. The first time I wore it I was out to dinner with friends for a birthday, had steak and cake and drinks and the lipstick was still going strong! I was gobsmacked. I’ve put it to the test over the past few months, always with fantastic results. It eventually will wear down if you continue eating throughout the whole night and wiping at it, but if you dab and are careful but not overly concerned, it is a dream. It’s taken me from wearing reds only to places where I would never eat and drink, to being happy wearing a bold lip to dinner. Hell yes. It’s what I hoped the Hourglass Opaque lipsticks would be (and weren’t).

Have you tried these lip cream stains? Do you love them as much as I do?

14 thoughts on “Getting Lippy: Sephora Lip Cream Stain

  1. It really does look amazing. I have a problem with all of the liquid lipsticks I have tried, where they seem to pile on the seam where my lips touch and I end up with this big grossness of goo

    • I know what you mean. A lot of liquid lipsticks don’t have any lasting power to me (the Rimmel Apocolips come to mind). The way to make this last is definitely to use a miniscule amount of product. I literally scrape all the product I can off the applicator and apply it. I wait a couple of minutes for it to set, blot and apply a second layer. Et viola — lasting lipstick.

  2. Pingback: Valentine’s | Intermittent Makeup

  3. Pingback: New Buys: Sephora Santa Monica | Intermittent Makeup

Thoughts?