FOTD #13 & Henna Hands

photo 1

My cousin got engaged recently. It was kind of momentous for me because we basically grew up together, more like siblings than cousins. He’s two years older than me and we grew up walking everywhere hand in hand because our mothers forced us to (before we stopped listening to them) and later learning to climb trees together, played video games together and wrestled a lot. As teenagers we grew apart, at different schools and interested in different things, but we’ve always had a relationship with lots of laughing and teasing — he bullied me relentlessly growing up and as a result, I honestly paid absolutely no mind to anyone who tried to bully me later on in life.

So! The makeup!

photo 2

Apologies for the car selfies, but I knew the wedding would be too hectic to take pictures of my makeup and I was too late heading out of the door to take proper pictures at home.

I decided to stick with my favourite base, despite it being low-medium coverage and went with the Dior BB Creme. However, I mixed in some Becca Shimmering Skin Perfecter into it to give it a nice sheen. On my brows I used my ever-faithful Anatasia Brow Wiz in Brunette and on my lids I used the Urban Decay Naked 3 Palette. I don’t remember exactly what shades, but it was Liar all over the lid and I messed around with Factory, Darkside and Blackheart to deepen the outer corner. I’d originally tried to go for more of a smokey look, but I was so dissatisfied with the outcome that I blended it out. For mascara, I went for my favourite – the Giorgio Armani Eyes To Kill. I’d wanted to add some individual lashes for a little va-va-voom, but as previously mentioned, I was running late. On my cheeks I used NARS Laguna to contour and NARS SIn for blush (I think). Finally, on my lips I went for the YSL Glossy Stain in #107.

photo 3

I personally don’t feel like it’s a real Arab wedding if you’re not decked out in some sort of henna! I went to my favourite henna salon here in Bahrain and asked the ladies for something appropriate. I tend to give them my definite do’s and don’ts (I hate henna on my nails or fingertips, I don’t like the edges to be curved; I do like intricate henna) and then give them utter free reign with the design. One of ladies, the one I always ask for, told me I was her favourite client because of that. But honestly — if this is how gorgeous her designs are, why would I mess with them?

The rings I’m wearing here are both echoes of my grandma. The midi ring is a ring she gave me when I was a baby that I resized so I could wear it now, and the ruby and diamond ring used to be hers. I also smacked on a couple of gold bangles and a gold chain to complete the look.

I actually really liked it! The party was great and I danced my feet off in 6″ heels that were strangely comfortable.

6 thoughts on “FOTD #13 & Henna Hands

  1. So pretty!! ❤ How do you like the Naked 3, I wonder. I really like it, though I find it a big boring… I always love the resulting look, though. Also, I've always loved seeing this type of henna on people. It really is so beautiful; I don't blame you for giving her free reign 😀

    • Thank you!

      I like the Naked 3 a lot, although I’ve found that I tend to go for the same three shades (Nooner, Liar, Factory) to create my favourite look. Literally every time I do that I get tons of compliments so it’s become habit — but I actually have a post coming up on it so I’ve been experimenting with it a little more. I’ve not worn any eye makeup for the past month because of my laser eye surgery, so I’m looking forward to doing so now!

  2. Pingback: All About That Base: Dior BB Creme | Intermittent Makeup

Thoughts?